CCC partners with UP for PCTP-RAPID and ReBUILD Programs

With the common goal of sustaining the promotion of public awareness in climate and disaster risk, the University of the Philippines (UP) together with the Climate Change Commission (CCC) work hand in hand in the implementation, continuation, and completion of Resilience and Preparedness towards Inclusive Development (RAPID) under the Project Climate Twin Phoenix (PCTP); and Resilience Capacity Building for Cities and Municipalities to Reduce Disaster Risks from Climate Change and Natural Hazards, Phase 1 (ReBUILD).

RAPID Program

Photo screenshot from PCTP- RAPID Website

CCC is currently implementing the PCTP-RAPID program that is being administered by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), with funds from the Australian Government.

In this RAPID Program, UP is set to conduct modeling simulations for flood, storm surge, and rain-induced landslide. This in turn leads the researchers and scientists to generate:

  • High resolution probabilistic flood and landslide hazards maps using 2049 and 2079 climate change projections of PAGASA for 12 partner LGUs
  • High resolution probabilistic storm surge hazard maps using climate change projections of PAGASA for 12 partner LGUs

Read more about the purpose and scope of the project here.

UP is also tasked to provide these data in printed copies, GIS shape files, and RAPID database compatible format to be provided for the use of each 12 partner LGUs.

The partner LGUs are: City of Tacloban and Municipalities of Palo, Tanauan, Dulag, Tolosa, Mayorga, MacArthur, and Abuyog in Leyte; Basey and Marabut in Samar; and Lawaan and Balangiga in Eastern Samar. RAPID covers sites that were affected by Typhoon Yolanda.

Project ReBUILD

CCC is also currently implementing the Resilience Capacity Building for Cities and Municipalities to Reduce Disaster Risks from Climate Change and Natural Hazards, Phase 1 (Project ReBUILD). It is administered by UNDP, with funding from the New Zealand Aid Programme (NZAP).

Photo screenshot from Project ReBUILD’s website

CCC collaborated with UP for the development of multi-scenario hazard maps to determine possible consequences to exposed elements that would be the basis to implement more responsive CCA-DRR measures.

Under this project, UP continues to initiate the enhancement of vulnerability and risk assessment for flood, landslide, and storm surge in the partner municipalities that cover five (5) municipalities from Cagayan River Basin in Region II and Jalaur River Basin in Region VI. These consist of the City of Tuguegarao and the Municipality of Iguig in the province of Cagayan; and the City of Passi and Municipalities of Zarraga and Dumangas in the province of Iloilo.

UP is also set to identify risk-policy interventions and recommendations in preparation for the formulation of land use and development plans and investment programs of the project’s partner municipalities.

Web-based repository using the framework and data from the assessment is also currently being developed and organized. In line with this, UP will also generate general recommendation on risk-sensitive policy intervention, as well as delving into the formulation of preliminary sectoral risk-sensitive Programs, Projects, and Activities (PPAs).

Current Actions

Since the inception of the project, UP scientists and researchers already started data collection, preparation of spatial dataset, preliminary generation of flood, storm surge and landslide models, and development of an exposure database.

In line with the goals and objectives of both projects, UP continues to identify the vulnerable areas, as well as suitable areas for development for the partner municipalities and cities. This partnership is another integral effort to expand the CCA-DRR initiatives in the country. This is consistent with the University’s commitment to national development and its mandate as National University that is to promote research and development and provide public service and technical assistance to the government.

About CCC

The Climate Change Commission, attached to the Office of the President, is an independent and autonomous body with the same status as that of a national government agency serves as the sole-policy-making body of the government which is tasked to coordinate, monitor and evaluate the programs and action plans of the government relating to climate change pursuant to the provisions of Republic Act No. 9729 or the Climate Change Act of 2009. This law builds resilience through mainstreaming climate change in various phases of policy formulation, development plans, poverty reduction strategies, and other development tools and techniques by all agencies and instrumentalities of the government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− one = three